Watercolor class, John Singer Sargent: class #2

My dad is retiring this year in April, and right now he is only working 2 days a week. We actually work together at the same company. He has always been somewhat artistic, but until recently his sketches would be only in food and hunting journals. One of the things he has decided to do was take 2 art classes starting this Jan. A drawing class and a watercolor class.

I decided to take the watercolor class with him, both because I would love to take some official classes, and because I’d get to spend time with him.

We haven’t really learned much yet. We have only had 2 classes, and so far the most I have learned is that you can’t use black and white paint in watercolor. I never knew that! The first class I didn’t bring anything with me to paint (oops), and the 2nd class I brought this painting, by John Singer Sargent. I only learned about him from researching paintings to mimic. He is an American artist, and I really love his style.

This is the start so far from yesterday’s class!

2 comments

What ya thinking?

