Weekly Photo Challenge: Threes

I have opted to join this photo challenge, given the spirit of blogging I’m in right now, and this week is a challenge of “three”.

“In a nutshell, a three-picture story is a way to help you think about storytelling with images. To create a three-picture story, gather:

    1. An establishing shot: a broad photo of your subject.
    2. A relationship: two elements interacting with one another.
    3. A detail: a close-up of one part of your subject.”

So I decide to use the following pictures, which are from my trip to Washington, D.C. I couldn’t decide between 2 groups of three, so I am adding them both! Ta da! And you get a story, to boot. Click on the photos to see them larger and also read specs about the f stops, shutter speed, etc.–which WordPress just imports for you! (God I love technology)

In October 2013, I traveled to Washington, D.C. for the first time to attend a conference hosted by Salsa Labs.

I went for my charity, Amman Imman. Salsa Labs is a platform for nonprofit management software that helps nonprofits succeed with tools like online fundraising, communications, advocacy, social media, and more (yes, I copied that from their site). Every year they host a nonprofit focused conference for two days.

So in 2013, our director asked if I wanted to go. I ended up attending with one other volunteer, and it was great; I enjoyed the people involved who worked for Salsa, many of the panels, and the volunteers. Seeing all those people working for charities–whether they were paid or not–was inspiring and amazing. I got to meet a lot of those people, and also see DC to boot.

I planned the trip so that I would be able to walk around the city early the day before the conference started. Using the metro and getting around was amazingly easy. The subway is simple, kind of pretty, and much cleaner than the NYC subways I’m use to.

The above three photos are of some beautiful statues. There were a few cute little birds–maybe sparrows–keeping them company. I had the luck to catch while I was snapping pictures.

The last three pictures were taking in two separate spots. The first one I took while still at the statue. The next two I had walked all the way up and was pretty close by that time. It was warm out, but this was during the government shutdown. Outside history like this was around all you had a chance of taking pictures of. There was a pretty decent crowd around, and although you can’t see it in the photos a lot of interesting people too. A few groups were just sitting on steps with signs, strange masks, or both; protesting or marketing.

It was kind of fun to just walk among them alone with just a backpack and my camera. I was using this great moleskin travel notebook to get around and make note of things. It has sections for the restaurants, bars, museums, and more that you visit while there.

Making this post for the challenge makes me almost want to write more about DC!

What ya thinking?

